Easy Sweet Potato Toast

A few questions rolled through my mind the first time I heard about sweet potato toast.  What? I put this right in my toaster? Are you sure? Is this going to burn my house down? You’re sure I don’t cook it first? Will it be cooked all the way through? Okay but we’re absolutely sure about the fire?

I threw caution to the wind and just went for it (I know, I know, I’m wild and crazy.  Someone stop me).  It was love at first bite.  I was happy just slapping a little cream cheese on top and calling it a day.  Last weekend I got a little more creative and the results were spudtacular (I’m sorry). I added arugula, a fried egg, fresh radish, avocado, even sweet flavors like peanut butter, banana and jam.  I did not expect to like the sweet combinations but I was pleasantly surprised.

Plus these tasty taters are filled with beta carotene (great for anti-aging), potassium, magnesium (anti-stress), iron,  vitamin D, and vitamin C (helps to promote  digestion, and collagen for skin elasticity).  Just in case you were looking for another reason to jump on the sweet potato toast train, I thought I’d provide that for you.

sliced sweet potato

sweet potato toast

sweet potato toast with avocado, red onion, and egg toppings

sweet potato toast topped with cream cheese, arugula greens and sliced radish toppings

sweet potato toast topped with peanut butter almond butter, banana and cinnamon toppings

sweet potato toast with cream cheese, jam, and strawberry toppings

Here’s what I did.  Slice a dry, raw, sweet potato (carefully) into about 1/4 inch thick slices.  I like to slice the whole thing, and keep them in a bag so they’re easy to grab.  They keep really well in the fridge.  Put slices in the toaster on high setting for 2-3 rounds, checking after each round.  If the slices are too large to fully fit in the toaster slot, flip the opposite side down between each round.  You’ll know when they’re done when the edges start to brown and bubble.  If the slices are small, I’ll tip my toaster towards myself so the pieces stand up and I can grab them or tip them out onto the counter.  Top with desired toppings.  Here’s what I used:

  1. Avocado, red onion, fried egg  (savory)
  2. Chive cream cheese, arugula, radish (savory)
  3. Peanut butter, banana, cinnamon (sweet)
  4. Plain cream cheese, mixed berry jam,  strawberry (sweet)

Please don’t ask me to choose a favourite, it’s like asking me to pick a favourite dog.  It cannot be done.  The texture is soft, chewy, with crispy edges.  If you prefer to peel the skin first, go for it.  The combination possibilities are endless, so experiment with some of your favourites.

SONY DSC

 

Jayme 2

Posted by

I like to cook, clean, bake and am passionate about living a healthier and more beautiful life. Care to join me?

7 thoughts on “Easy Sweet Potato Toast

  1. I’ve seen a few different variations of trying to make the “toast”, have you ever tried microwaving it for a little bit first before toasting it multiple times? Just trying to figure out the best method!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment